And So It Begins…

It’s done! Finally. After thinking about it and then talking about it, I finally did it! After 5 years of living in New York City, I have moved back to New Jersey with a plan to change my life…

I love the NYC lifestyle and was really comfortable in my BX apartment, but when nothing else is occupying my thoughts, my mind wanders elsewhere…everywhere.  Even more than NYC, I LOVE to travel. For the past couple of years, within the confines of work, I have been able to take one big (about 2 weeks) trip a year with a shorter trip or a weekend mixed in here and there. But it’s never enough…

As soon as I return  I obsessively make willing and  less willing friends and family members listen to the tales of my adventures, and look at ALL of my pictures. I ride high off of the feeling that travel gives me and immediately start to plan where I will head next. I know myself well enough to know that this is not a phase- Travel HAS to be a bigger part of my life.

So, here I am now, having moved in with my mom less than two weeks ago, on a mission to save up enough money to quit my job and just TRAVEL. My itinerary and the duration of my trip are still to be determined, but I have LOTS of ideas and plan to be away for at least 6 months to a year. My tentative date of departure is January 2014- so I have a year and a half to save up the money I need.

It’s definitely going to be an …interesting…year and a half and amazing after that, so I started this blog to share it all with y’all. I plan to detail the trials of sacrificing while I save up, the developing plans for my SoleJourney, tales of the adventures I have planned in the meantime (Toronto, Peru & Bolivia and Hawaii), other travel  and destination info and my thoughts as the question mark that has become my future, unfolds.

Stay tuned…I head out to Toronto after work tomorrow to hang out with friends I met while on a trip to Turkey last summer. I have never been to this Canadian city before and it promises to be a great time.

8 responses to “And So It Begins…

  1. This is so exciting!! The future awaits!! *bravest person I know*

  2. behind you in every step…. living vicariously, and hopefully not so vicariously in one or more of the destinations! p’adelante!

  3. You go girl! May the Almighty God bless you and guide your footsteps ALWAYS 🙂

  4. Um, I absolutely hate you! Not really…but you know what I mean. I fully intend on living life through your eyes as you embark on your “SoleJourner” I can only imagine the stories you have for the next lifetime to come! Enjoy!

  5. Spectacular! And best of luck planning! If you need a room (aka berth) or ride along the way dont’t hesitate to let us know! You can always find us or see upcoming plans at rodetrip.net
    Stephanie & Brian

  6. Thanks for the love everyone! I hope I can keep you all entertained.

    Stephanie & Brian- I’ve been keeping up with your travels too! I still think its so cool that you’re sailing around the world.

  7. I wish it was me! No, I seriously do. I wish you nothing but the best and I am really happy for you. I will be reading and yes I will judge you for any ignorance that takes place!

  8. Pingback: In The Wilds of New Jersey | SoleJourner

Leave a Reply

