Off to Peru!

My bucket list is about to get one item shorter because today I leave for 3 weeks in Peru (& Bolivia)! Peru has been at the top of my list for years, but crummy job situations prevented me from being able to experience it the way I wanted to, and so I waited. I finally changed jobs last fall, and now the time has come!

Once again, I am traveling with G Adventures, and am going solo but will meet up with a  group of 10-15 other travelers once I arrive in Lima. By G standards, this trip is ‘basic’, which means our group will ride public transportation (sometimes overnight), stay in simple locally owned hotels & guesthouses, do some camping and eat in local restaurants. While some of the comforts of home will be absent, this style of travel will really help me get to know the culture and people of Peru. I love it!

The map below details my trip itinerary which includes a 3 day hike to Machu Picchu via the Inca Trail.

Map of the route for Andean Discovery

This hike is one of the main reasons that people all over the world travel to Peru and I am really looking forward to this experience. BUT, I would be lying if I didn’t admit to being a little nervous about it too.  The Inca Trail, a physically challenging hike, is above 8,000 feet where altitude sickness starts to affect some people. As a lifelong coast dweller and fairly competitive person, I don’t yet know how my body will react to this elevation and I’m worried that I won’t be able to hack it. I run often and believe myself to be in decent shape, but will that matter up there where the air is thin and your body is oxygen deprived? Will my chronically injured lower back/hip hold out for 3 days of hiking? Will I be so busy trying not to pass out that I miss the thrill of the experience?

(Legitimate) worries aside, I am looking forward to immersing myself in the sights, sounds and smells of this amazing country. I can’t wait to walk through the sun gate to Machu Picchu and to visit the floating Uros Islands in Lake Titicaca. Cuzco is of particular interest to me and I am eager to explore this city, which we happen to arrive in on my birthday!

I just bought a new 16GB HD Class 10 (fancy) memory card and plan to take 12, 234,208,403,402 pictures, which I will make sure you get to see the best of. Backpack on my back and day-pack on my front, I will head out to the airport shortly, so wish me luck!

5 responses to “Off to Peru!

  1. Sounds like an amazing adventure. All the best!

  2. Yaaay!! I’m jealous. Enjoy!!

  3. I’m so happy for you going to all these places you’ve dreamed of. I hope that you are doing ok in the high altitude!

  4. Pingback: What is My Travel Philosophy? | SoleJourner

Leave a Reply

