Aloha Hawaii!

Things have been so busy, I have barely had time to think about my trip to Hawaii… somehow, I will be leaving tomorrow! This is my first trip to Hawaii and needless to say, I am excited. Usually, on my travels, I am so busy moving from place to place and doing different tours and activities that I come home exhausted. This time, I am looking forward to doing some actual relaxing- having more of a vacation, really.

As I don’t usually take vacations, the impetus for this trip was the wedding of an old friend. We met while studying abroad together in Australia back in college, and while we haven’t seen each other since (wow, it’s been a while…) we have definitely kept in touch over the years. Since she grew up in Hawaii, naturally she decided to have her wedding there, and that was all the reason I needed to get myself out there! But, since the east coast is so far from Hawaii, it only made sense for me to stay for a while. So, I will be spending a week on the Island of Oahu- Yes! I considered trying to see one of the other islands while I was out there, but with the limited time I have, I thought it better to really get to know the one I’m on instead. From the research I did a while back, it seems like there is no shortage of sights, smells and tastes to keep you busy on Oahu, in Honolulu and Waikiki.

I have booked a hostel in the heart of things near Waikiki and Diamond Head and am really looking forward to catching up with my friend! Outside of that, I will obviously do absolutely nothing for a few days, lay in the sun on a beautiful beach and watch the ocean. But knowing myself, that won’t last for more than 2 days. I’m not good at doing nothing and will be itching to move after that. So, I plan go on a few of the hikes that Oahu boasts to take in the lush greenery and lovely vistas that the island has to offer. I want to stroll around historic Honolulu and visit the Pearl Harbor and the USS Arizona Memorial. I definitely want to watch the surfers do their thing on the North Shore, and may even take a surfing lesson of my own- although last time I tried to surf it was nothing less than hilarious. I am definitely looking forward to sampling lots of delicious food and drinks and hope to find a place to take in some Hawaiian music at the same time.  Now that I think about it, with so much to see and do, the doing nothing may have to wait…

I checked the weather forecast and it shows temperatures in the 80s and sunshine all week- perfect! All packed up and ready to go, the only thing standing in my way now is work today and the long long flight tomorrow morning. Still, I know I will be in paradise before I know it, drinking Mai Thais and getting the last bit of sun I’ll see until next year!

Oh, and if anyone has been to Oahu and has suggestions for what to do or where to eat, please share!

3 responses to “Aloha Hawaii!

  1. Super jealous

  2. Jealous -_- and my suggestion to you: get LOST in the beauty 🙂

  3. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

