My Itinerary: An Updated Plan

While the waiting is my least favorite part, I have been enjoying the chance to really think about what I want to get out of this trip, what I want to do and see, and how to make sure it is all that I am dreaming of. As I have talked about in other posts, two of my biggest goals are to greatly improve my Spanish and to move and explore at my own pace, lingering or leaving as I see fit.

I have slowly been shaping an itinerary with these things in mind: 7 months in Central and South America and 2 months in Italy for a total of 9 months of travel. Ready to get down into more specifics about what towns and cities I want to visit in each place, I began to research Belize in-depth and realized I might have a bit of a problem- I could easily explore this tiny country forever, but had allotted about 3 weeks there in order to get through all of the countries I wanted to before heading to Europe. My plan also involved about 6 weeks of Spanish language school in Guatemala and 2 weeks exploring the rest of the country for a total of 8 weeks. This would mean that in 3 months I would have just made it out of the first two countries I’d hoped to visit with only 4 months to go and at least 10 countries left to see…typing this now it was clearly a terrible plan.  I was also realizing that this plan would plant me solidly in Argentina and Brazil in June and July, two of the coldest South American months- no bueno!

plans

So, I started thinking about how I could make some adjustments and bring my plan back into the realm of the reasonable. First, I tackled the length of my trip: I originally chose 9 months because I thought that with the money I spent on paying off my loans I would be restricted in the number of months I could really afford to spend out in the world. But, with some more strict cuts to my monthly spending (at this point I literally can’t cut anything else out) it looks like I may still be able to meet my original goal of $25,000 after all. Also, after re-evaluating, I decided that I don’t need as much money to come home to as I was originally planning to keep, and that it is safe to spend more of it on the road. So, I have now extended the length of my trip back to a little over 11 months.

Another important piece of the puzzle: my best friend is getting married in Spain in July of 2014! Obviously there is no way I am going to miss this. So, a new route is in order!

ecuaspain

After thinking it all through, I have now settled on an itinerary that takes care of almost all of my issues and leaves me with something I feel better about: I will still begin in Belize and make my way down through Central America to Ecuador. From here I will fly to Spain, then hit Italy while I’m already in the area. Once I am finished in Italy, I will fly back to Ecuador and finish the rest of South America! With this new plan:

  1. I will get 6 whole months in Central America and Ecuador allowing for the slower pace I have wanted. I will be able to linger in Belize for 4 weeks without losing out somewhere else.
  2. I will cut Spanish school in Guatemala down to 4 weeks. I still want to learn as much as I can, so I will attend for another week or two along the way in other countries- maybe Honduras or Ecuador. This way, I will have time to practice actually using Spanish between formal lessons and will get to brush up and build on what I have been learning in real interactions. I will also get to stay put in other locations for a week or two and learn different accents and local slang. I think this is the best plan for my language retention.
  3. There are direct flights from Guayaquil, Ecuador to Madrid, so it will be easy to get a round trip to Europe half way through. I will get to spend time in Espana and then easily jump over to Italy. While it will be high tourist season, it will be summer and I’d prefer to be there in the warmth. I will also get a chance to practice Spanish in Spain and break up the culture of the Americas with a little stint in Europe. Not to mention, after 6 months out on my own, it will be nice to see a familiar face.
  4. I will miss the South American winter and will be in Argentina and Brazil in the spring when temperatures are much more pleasant. I’ll have 3.5 months or so to dedicate just to the South American countries I haven’t visited yet, again allowing for a slower more pleasant pace.

This new itinerary feels good to me and I think doing my trip this way will help me get everything I want out of next year!

imagesCAHGGU6V

Oh, and today my countdown hits 299 days until I go- I have finally made it out of the 300s!

5 responses to “My Itinerary: An Updated Plan

  1. Love the plan. Ecuador is amazing and really great on a budget. probably one of the cheapest countries in SA to visit. Also recommend Panama alot. Here is our adventure in Ecuador, can give you some insight. http://www.atruetalltale.wordpress.com

  2. Have you ever thought of taking a Spanish course state side first, just to get a jump start? Then when you make your actual trip you won’t have to start with the basics. When I knew I’d be traveling to Costa Rica I found a reasonably cheap Spanish course at my local community college for $140 for 8 sessions. So this way I’ll have a leg up on the general stuff. I’ll be taking up Spanish 2 upon my return, the idea is to be fluent this time next year 🙂

    • Yup! I have been practicing all along with podcasts and telenovelas designed to teach Spanish. I have also been texting and typing in Spanish with some Spanish speaking friends and my listening comprehension and ability to form sentences have improved already! This site has some of the free resources I have been using http://www.openculture.com/free_spanish_lessons. I’m not sure how you learn best, but these have helped me more than all the traditional courses I have taken before so check them out! Hopefully we will both be fluent in 2014!

  3. Great, you’re already on top of it, I should have figured lol! Check out this site as well 123Teachme.com Here is to us being fluent Spanish speakers in 2014 🙂

Leave a Reply

